Initiate an asset transfer

If you have the Mass Update administrative permission, you can initiate an asset transfer to move assets between buildings.

To initiate a transfer:

  1. Select Assets > View All Assets. The Manage Assets page appears.
  2. Find an asset by searching or using a filter(s).

    Note: To view all assets, in the column of your choice, click Flexible filtering icon.. In the filter (Filter icon.) section, select Check All, and then click Filter.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • In the row of each asset you want to transfer, select the checkbox.
    • To select all items on a page or all items across all pages, click Select all down arrow. at the top of the Select all column.
    • To view asset statuses, click Add, re-order, or remove table columns and add the Asset Status column.

      Note: After you click the drop-down (Select all down arrow. ), a banner at the top of the page indicates the number of selected items. To deselect the items, click Clear in the banner.

    • Note: You cannot transfer assets with a status of In Use, Lost, Stolen, In Transit, On Order, or Returned to Vendor. If you select assets in bulk, only transferrable assets appear on the Transfer Detail page.

  4. Select Actions > Transfer Assets. The Transfer Detail page appears.Transfer Detail page to initiate an asset transfer.
  5. To change the Requested By person, use the drop-down.
  6. Use the drop-down to select the Recipient of the asset.
  7. In the Sending to Building and Sending to Space, select the appropriate building and space.
  8. If the asset is needed by a specific date, enter the date in the Date Needed field or click the calendar icon.
  9. Enter any relevant information in the Notes field.
  10. If the transfer requires approval, click Save. Otherwise, click Initiate Transfer.

    Note: If transfers require approval, the Initiate Transfer button does not appear.

The Asset Transfer Status and Asset Status fields display In Transit. You cannot change the Asset Status manually.

To resolve this status, you must complete or cancel the transfer. When you cancel a transfer, the asset returns to its previous status, and the transfer remains available as read-only history.